My Hot Bikram Experience

Hi everyone,

I just want to start off by saying thank you to some of you who have sent me messages about your happiness jars. I found it really touching that I was able to inspire you or at least motivate you to do that. Please keep sending me those messages! 🙂

Today I just want to tell you about my first attempt at Bikram Yoga. For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, this is a video that I watched before I decided to give it a go:

Bikram Yoga

So, I have quite mixed feelings about my first yoga session for a few reasons. The first thing I wanted to say was that, as you know, I had been unwell the week before with a cold/flu type thing. I was feeling better by Monday but if I’m honest, I wasn’t feeling 100%. I wanted to get back into training and exercising because I had been at home most of the week before. Yes, I’m one of those people that grows impatient when I’m ill and tries to jump straight back into a regular routine asap.

I think this may have affected me in a negative way and definitely had an impact on how I felt about the session. The heat in the room was like a sauna environment and it is safe to say that I have NEVER sweat so much before. I was wearing my usual gym clothing, leggings and a top, but I found myself stripping off throughout the class and lifting up my leggings to knee length. This didn’t really put me off though, sweating during a work out is good. However, the heat was very overwhelming for 90 minutes, I found myself feeling nauseous at some points and having to sit down and take a break throughout the class. It was also very unfortunate that after the class, I felt like I had been hit by a bus and felt extremely weak. Not to mention, my chest felt tight and I began to cough quite a lot. Since then, my flu symptoms came back with a vengeance and my chest was very phlegmy the next day. I have been resting ever since. 😦

I know this review seems quite negative but don’t get me wrong, the experience as a whole was quite interesting for me. I have bought an unlimited months pass to the Bikram classes because that was the cheapest option as a beginner. I am curious to see how my body will react to it once I am feeling at full health because I did enjoy the postures & my skin was actually glowing when I left. I will not let this put me off & I will try again.

The lesson I have learnt is probably very obvious to most of you but I am very stubborn (sometimes) at my own peril, do NOT go back to any form of exercise unless you have FULLY recovered from any illness. All you will do is weaken your body and make yourself worse. I have now regressed and had to have another week of rest with medicine and tlc. I will let you know how it goes next time. This is not the end of my Bikram experience! 😉

Does anyone else do Bikram Yoga? Or are any of you yoga bunnies? If so, let me know which type you prefer and why. Would love to hear about it.

Martha.

x

Leave a Reply

